Instead of trying to carpet the world…I’m just going to wear fuzzy slippers.

My favorite Saturday Night Live character was Stuart Smalley.  Stuart was a 12-step addict who was famous for his personal affirmations.  My favorite was “Instead of trying to carpet the world, I’m just going to wear fuzzy slippers.”  I think he’s saying “Be the change you want to see in the world,” but his is a lot more fun.  Stuart was a wise man.  Take care of your own business first.  Find peace, joy and satisfaction inside.  Stop expecting everyone else to make you happy.   I think this involves keeping your mind, body and spirit healthy.   Sounds like new age, doesn’t it?  But, there’s truth in it.  We’re like a three-legged stool.  If one aspect of our life is out of whack, we lose our balance.  So, Stuart, today I’m going to read something important (to work on my mind), exercise (to work on my body) and look at everyone around me in a more loving way (spirit).

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

